Launched in 2008, The Jarman Award gives recognition and support to artists in the UK who use the film medium within their work in a unique and interesting way. Inspired by Derek Jarman, one of the most esteemed film media creatives of the 20th Century, the award has been awarded on an annual basis since 2008 by Film London and Channel 4, in association with The Whitechapel Gallery to a UK-based artists or collective.

Selected from a vast number of entrants who are all nominated by UK experts in the field of film, arts and culture, the shortlist presents the work of ten artists who use the film medium in interesting and unique ways. The winner will be announced at an event in London on the 6th of November at the Whitechapel Gallery. The winner will receive £10,000 for their art form and be commissioned to produce a film for broadcast on Channel 4’s short-form arts strand, “Random Acts”.

On the panel of judges a number of cultural figureheads will be judging the award including: Stuart Comer, Tate Modern Chair; Mark Cousins, film maker, author and curator; Aaron Cezar, director of Delfina Foundation; Iwona Blazwick, OBE director Whitechapel Gallery; Mark Rapoit, Editor of Art Review; and Tabitha Jackson, Commissioning Editor for Arts, Channel 4.

The list of nominees is:

  • Brad Butler & Karen Mirza
  • Marcus Coates:
  • Shezad Dawood
  • Benedict Drew
  • Nathaniel Mellors
  • James Richards
  • Ben Rivers
  • Aura Satz
  • Matt Stokes
  • Thomson & Craighead